State Center Fire & EMS

115 E Main St
PO Box 802  
State Center, IA  50247
(641) 483-2081

Fire Chief                                Jim Eckhardt**
Asst Fire Chief                       Jim Vellinga
Asst Fire Chief/EMS Chief   Brad Pfantz** 
Captain                                   Doug Henze**
Captain                                   Rick Wilkening
Lieutenant                              Wendell Millizer
Lieutenant                              Randy Goodwin**
Squad Leader                       Matt Walton
Squad Leader                       Tim Butler
EMS Captain                         Sara McMorran**

The State Center Fire & EMS is committed to the extinguishment of fire, protection of life and property, and providing needed medical services to the people of State Center and surrounding communities.

Our 39 member department consists of 11 EMT’s and 35 firefighters along with 3 retired firefighters.  We respond to approximately fifty to sixty fire/accidents calls and 170 EMS calls each year.  In addition, we volunteer 4200 hours of training per year.  Our EMS is a conditional EMT-B transport squad, providing backup ambulance service to the Marshalltown Area Paramedic Service from Marshalltown, IA.

We are a dedicated group of individuals providing the best service possible to our community.  Our membership is limited to a maximum of fifty members.  Anyone interested in membership should contact Fire Chief, Jim Eckhardt or EMS Chief, Brad Pfantz at 641-483-2081.

 A few facts about our department for the 2012 year through October 5th………

  •  We have responded to 188 Fire and EMS calls
  •  We put in 751 manhours at these calls along with 1842 training hours
  •  The average response time to the scene was 7 minutes, 9 seconds (national average for EMS is over 10 minutes for rural departments)
  •  Our average member has dedicated almost 16 years to the department
  •  Each and every one of these volunteers donate their time to protect the people and property of   this district without any compensation of any kind. 

Annual Dance
Each year, the State Center Fire & EMS conduct a fund drive to support our many activities throughout the year to purchase firefighting supplies that are not otherwise available for the department.  We appreciate the past support in keeping our department one of the best Volunteer Departments in the State of Iowa.  We recently took Second Place at the annual Firefighter Competition held in September of 2012.


Members of the State Center Fire & EMS are……..

Tyson Akers*
Nick Barnes*
Andy Blink* 
Jeff Bunn**
Doug Butler
Tim Butler*
Stacy Chavez**
Keith Christianson*
Jim Eckhardt**
Jeff Edler
Trent Eggers*
Kim Elder**
Jeff Gerke
Cody German*
Randy Goodwin**
Loren Green*
Doug Henze**
Holle Henze**
Doug Hobbs
Robert Kerwood*
Jeff Larsen*
Tyler Maddick*
Randy McMorran**
Sara McMorran**
Wendell Millizer
Craig Muench
Bob Nusbaum*
Brad Pfantz**
Dick Postel
Ricky Ramirez*
Jim Streeter**
Jim Thornbury
Alan Tichy*
Kristi Tuttle**
Jim Vellinga*
Mike Walkup
Matt Walton*
Craig Weuve
Eric Wilkening*
Hunter Wilkening*
Rick Wilkening*
Rod Wilkening
*   Denotes Active Member
** Denotes EMT